Boggs, Johnson Join Phi Theta Kappa Foundation Board of Trustees

Jackson, MS – The Phi Theta Kappa Foundation has named Dr. George Boggs, former American Association of Community Colleges President and CEO, and Cassius O. Johnson, Program Officer for the Carnegie Corporation of New York, as members of the Board of Trustees. The Foundation was created to direct the Society’s fundraising and development programs.

Dr. George Boggs

Cassius O. Johnson

Dr. Boggs is President and CEO Emeritus of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC), an organization he served from 2000-2011. He also serves as Vice Chair of Phi Theta Kappa’s Board of Directors.

Dr. Boggs holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from The Ohio State University, a master’s degree in chemistry from the University of California at Santa Barbara, and a Ph.D. in educational administration from The University of Texas at Austin.

He serves as a member of the National Academy of Sciences Board on Science Education and on the Board of the Campaign for College Opportunity. Dr. Boggs is the immediate past Chair of the Board of the World Federation of Colleges and Polytechnics. He is an active author and speaker on higher education topics and consults internationally.

Dr. Boggs has been recognized by the Public Broadcasting System with its Terry O’Banion Prize for Teaching and Learning for “triggering the most significant educational movement of the past decade.” He has been honored by The University of Texas as a Distinguished Graduate. Dr. Boggs was recognized by the Chair Academy with its Paul A. Elsner International Excellence in Leadership Award and by the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD) with its International Leadership Award. He received the Harry Buttimer Distinguished Administrators Award from the Association of California Community College Administrators, the Marie Y. Martin Chief Executive Officer Award from the Association of Community College Trustees, and the Stanley A. Mahr Community Service Award from the San Marcos Chamber of Commerce.

Dr. Boggs served as a founding faculty member, division chair, and associate dean of instruction at Butte College in California and, for over 15 years, he served as the Superintendent/President of Palomar College in California. He also holds the title of Superintendent/President Emeritus of Palomar College.

Phi Theta Kappa alumnus and former International President Cassius O. Johnson joined the Carnegie Corporation of New York as a Program Officer in 2012. Johnson served as Phi Theta Kappa’s International President from 1997-1998. He attended Bevill State Community College in Hamilton, Alabama, and was a member of the Alpha Psi Xi Chapter.

Johnson went on to receive his bachelor’s degree in political science and honors studies from Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas, and his Master’s in Public Affairs from the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin, where he was a Barbara Jordan Scholar. He also worked for more than two years as Phi Theta Kappa’s Director of Public Relations.

Prior to joining Carnegie Corporation, Johnson worked as Associate Vice President at Jobs for the Future, where he led the organization’s federal policy and national advocacy efforts aimed at increasing the number of low-income youth and adults who attain postsecondary credentials.

Johnson continues to be involved with community colleges and with Phi Theta Kappa, serving as a panelist during a previous Annual Convention. He said his membership in Phi Theta Kappa opened doors throughout his academic career and allowed him to establish himself as a scholar, a leader and an engaged citizen who was ready to be successful and have a positive impact.

Officers of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation’s Board of Trustees are Dr. Matthew Quinn, Founding Executive Director Emeritus of the Jack Kent Cooke Foundation, Virginia, Chair; Dr. Jo Marshall, President of Somerset Community College, Kentucky, Vice Chair and Treasurer; and Dr. Rod A. Risley, Executive Director and CEO of Phi Theta Kappa, Mississippi, Secretary. Dr. Nancy L. Rieves serves as CEO of the Foundation and a Trustee. Other Trustees include alumnae Dr. Janice Freeman and Dr. Joyce Freeman, Emeritus Adjunct Professors and retired Phi Theta Kappa advisors, Texas A & M University – Corpus Christi; Dr. Douglas W. Foard, retired Executive Secretary of Phi Beta Kappa, Virginia; alumnus Wes Moore, author and television host, New York; Lou Oberndorf, philanthropist and retired CEO of Medical Education Technologies, Inc., Florida; alumna Mirta Ojito, Assistant Professor in the Graduate School of Journalism, Columbia University, New York; alumnus Dr. David Shinn, Professor, Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University, Washington, D.C.; J. Mark Davis, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, Georgia; alumna Dr. E. Ann McGee, President of Seminole State College, Florida; and Ray Hites, philanthropist and retired President of the Hites Family Foundation, Georgia.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts