Phi Theta Kappa Presents 2013 Guistwhite Scholars with $100,000 in Scholarships

Jackson, Mississippi – Twenty Phi Theta Kappa members have been selected as 2013 Guistwhite Scholarship recipients and will be recognized and invited to a special reception during Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention in San Jose, California, April 4-6. Each year $100,000 in scholarship funds are awarded, with each Guistwhite Scholar receiving a $5,000 scholarship for baccalaureate studies and a commemorative medallion.

Guistwhite Scholars are chosen based on academic achievement, leadership accomplishment, and engagement in Phi Theta Kappa programs. The 20 recipients for 2013 were selected by a panel of independent judges from more than 1,800 applicants to receive this scholarship, the second highest offered by Phi Theta Kappa.

The Guistwhite Scholar Program is named in honor of the late Dr. Jack Guistwhite and his widow, Margaret Guistwhite. Dr. Guistwhite established the first designated transfer scholarship for Phi Theta Kappa members at Florida Atlantic University in 1975. The Guistwhite Scholarships were established by Phi Theta Kappa in 1992.

“Dr. Jack Guistwhite planted a seed in 1975 that resulted in more than 750 colleges and universities designating transfer scholarships for thousands of Phi Theta Kappa members,” said Phi Theta Kappa’s Executive Director and CEO Dr. Rod A. Risley. “It is fitting that we continue to honor our students who excel in scholarship and leadership in Phi Theta Kappa as Guistwhite Scholars in memory of Jack and in honor of his wife Margaret. Through their generosity and those who support scholarships through the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation, these students will receive funds to help them complete their degrees.”

The 2013 Guistwhite Scholars are:

Jessica Abfalter, Northwestern Michigan College, Michigan

Yannel Celestrin, Miami Dade College, Florida

Miranda Davis, Dyersburg State Community College, Tennessee

Katherine Dunklee, Howard Community College, Maryland

Erica Gianakon, Hutchinson Community College, Kansas

Mayra Gutierrez, Central Arizona College, Arizona

Olga Homonchuk, Normandale Community College, Minnesota

Phillippe Ly, Orange Coast College, California

Taren Nance, Wor-Wic Community College, Maryland

Angelina Nance, Clark State Community College, Ohio

Devin Oakes, Mesa Community College, Arizona

Deanna Pack, Jefferson State Community College, Alabama

Kristen Regehr, Hutchinson Community College, Kansas

Christine Sim, Delgado Community College, Louisiana

Awais Spall, Mt. San Antonio College, California

Kim Stingo, Palm Beach State College, Florida

Jacqueline Watkins, Kirkwood Community College, Missouri

Tracy Weimer, Lane Community College, Oregon

Joshua Yancey, Somerset Community College, Kentucky

Ashley Young, Hillsborough Community College, Florida

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,280 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts