Eight College Presidents to Receive Bennett Lifetime Achievement Awards

Jackson, MS -Eight retiring college presidents/campus CEOs will be honored with the Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award during Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention in San Jose, California, April 4-6.

Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented to college presidents/campus CEOs at two-year or senior institutions, and state community college directors who have been supportive of Phi Theta Kappa, and are retiring from their careers. They are named in honor of the late Dr. Michael Bennett, longtime president of St. Petersburg College in Florida.

The 2013 Michael Bennett Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are:

Dr. Fred Grogan, Metropolitan Community College – Longview Campus, Missouri

Dr. Sheila Ortego, Santa Fe Community College, New Mexico

Dr. B. Carlyle Ramsey, Danville Community College, Virginia

Dr. Ismael Sosa, Southwest Texas Junior College, Texas

Mr. Don Supalla, Rochester Community and Technical College, Minnesota

Dr. Jerry Sue Thornton, Cuyahoga Community College, Ohio

Dr. Jacqueline Vietti, Butler Community College, Kansas

Dr. William Wojciechowski, Pratt Community College

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts