95th Annual Convention Opens with Regional Coordinator Honors

Phi Theta Kappa kicked off its 95th Annual Convention in San Jose, California, by honoring retiring Regional Coordinators for their service.

More than 3,450 Phi Theta Kappa members from 501 chapters around the world have gathered in San Jose now through April 6 to hear world-class speakers address the current Honors Study Topic, The Culture of Competition, and to honor and recognize excellence in chapters, members, advisors and more.

Retiring Missouri Regional Coordinator Ann Parks was presented with the Regional Coordinator Emeritus Award, which honors coordinators who have served for five or more years. Parks became Missouri’s Regional Coordinator in 2004. She began her service with Phi Theta Kappa in 2000 when she became advisor of the Alpha Tau Chapter at Moberly Area Community College.

Five other retiring Regional Coordinators were also recognized with Distinguished Service Awards, which honor less than five years of service. Those honored were: Rebecca Allen, Indiana; Deena Bisig, Greater Northwest; Michael Brown, Virginia; Charles Mastrangelo, New England; and Rene Rojas, New York.

During the First General Session Thursday evening, International President Ryan Austin Palmore addressed Convention attendees with his speech entitled, “Who is Phi Theta Kappa?” Attendees will also hear keynote addresses from renowned FORTUNE editor Geoff Colvin, sports revolutionary Billie Jean King, and Phi Theta Kappa CEO and Executive Director Dr. Rod Risley.

And, before the weekend is up, five new International Officers will be elected – an International President and four Vice Presidents based on Phi Theta Kappa’s four divisions.

Recommended Posts