Thirty Named Phi Theta Kappa Paragon Advisors

Jackson, MS – Thirty Phi Theta Kappa advisors will be honored with the 2014 Paragon Award for New Advisors, presented by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society during NerdNation 2014, the annual convention in Orlando, Florida, April 24-26. Recipients will receive commemorative medallions and be honored during the Association of Chapter Advisors Luncheon and the Hallmark Awards Gala.

The Paragon Award for New Advisors recognizes advisors who have served less than four years and have made significant contributions to the growth of the individual chapter members, served as the chapter’s advocate on campus, and encouraged the chapter to be involved on the local, regional and/or international level of the organization. Advisors were nominated by their chapters through the Hallmark Awards application process. They were selected by a panel of judges from more than 100 nominees worldwide.

The 2014 Paragon Award for New Advisor winners are:

Rosie Banks
Mu Pi Chapter
Harold Washington College
Chicago, Illinois

Adrienne Barkley Giffin
Upsilon Pi Chapter
John A. Logan College
Carterville, Illinois

John Bastian
Alpha Theta Omicron Chapter
Rio Salado College
Tempe, Arizona

Thomas Beckwith
Alpha Alpha Gamma Chapter
Century College
White Bear Lake, Minnesota

Brittany Budden
Alpha Alpha Sigma Chapter
Howard Community College
Columbia, Maryland

Lee Conerly
Phi Upsilon Chapter
Alabama Southern Community College
Monroeville, Alabama

Payal Doctor
Alpha Theta Phi Chapter
LaGuardia Community College
Long Island City, New York

Candace Eldridge
Beta Sigma Mu Chapter
Tarrant County College
Fort Worth, Texas

Garry Evans
Alpha Mu Tau Chapter
Collin College
Frisco, Texas

H. Jessica Hargis
Alpha Mu Tau Chapter
Collin College
Frisco, Texas

Kelly Kennedy
Beta Pi Theta Chapter
Miami Dade College
Hialeah, Florida

Mehrdad Khosravi
Alpha Sigma Alpha Chapter
De Anza College
Cupertino, California

Amanda Lilgreen
Alpha Kappa Alpha Chapter
Normandale Community College
Bloomington, Minnesota

Laura McMahon
Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter
Holmes Community College
Ridgeland, Mississippi

Lisa Moorman
Alpha Upsilon Pi Chapter
Sussex County Community College
Newton, New Jersey

Andrea Musial
Alpha Psi Rho Chapter
Lakeland Community College
Kirtland, Ohio

Al Nowak
Mu Tau Chapter
Lansing Community College
Lansing, Michigan

Cassander O’Neal
Beta Omicron Sigma Chapter
H. Lavity Stoutt Community College
Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Kristi Peters
Tau Mu Chapter
Enterprise State Community College
Enterprise, Alabama

Monica Pirshafiey
Omicron Beta Chapter
Mesa Community College
Mesa, Arizona

Cynthia Rickert
Alpha Upsilon Tau Chapter
Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
Indianapolis, Indiana

Mozell Rollerson
Alpha Epsilon Omicron Chapter
Trident Technical College
Charleston, South Carolina

John Schulte
Alpha Chi Sigma Chapter
Cape Fear Community College
Wilmington, North Carolina

Nancy Shockley
Alpha Omicron Psi Chapter
Oakland Community College
Royal Oak, Michigan

David Sigmund
Beta Gamma Epsilon Chapter
Stark State College
North Canton, Ohio

Beth Stewart
Alpha Upsilon Eta Chapter
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College
Asheville, North Carolina

Leo Studach
Beta Gamma Zeta Chapter
Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana
Logansport, Indiana

Anita Tam
Alpha Zeta Sigma Chapter
Greenville Technical College
Greenville, South Carolina

Kennette Thomas
Alpha Xi Tau Chapter
Surry Community College
Dobson, North Carolina

Jenni VanCuren
Alpha Beta Omega Chapter
Lord Fairfax Community College
Middletown, Virginia

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts