Thirty Named Phi Theta Kappa Distinguished Chapter Members

Jackson, MS – Thirty Phi Theta Kappa members will be honored with the 2014 Distinguished Chapter Member Awards, presented by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society during NerdNation 2014, the annual convention in Orlando, Florida, April 24-26. Recipients will receive commemorative medallions and be honored during the Hallmark Awards Gala.

Distinguished Chapter Members must be nominated by their chapters through the Hallmark Awards application process and are chosen based on a student’s embodiment of the Hallmarks of the Society (Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship) through Honors in Action and other chapter activities. They were selected by a panel of judges from more than 150 nominees internationally.

The 2014 Distinguished Chapter Member Award winners are:

Yesenia Acevedo, Alpha Zeta Eta Chapter, North Lake College, Irving, Texas

Diana Angelo, Beta Alpha Phi Chapter, Hudson County Community College, Jersey City, New Jersey

Kelsey Bishop, Iota Zeta Chapter, Northeast Mississippi Community College, Booneville, Mississippi

Holly Campbell, Alpha Xi Pi Chapter, Motlow State Community College, Lynchburg, Tennessee

Laura M. Deluca, Alpha Epsilon Phi Chapter, Bergen Community College, Paramus, New Jersey

Hernan Diaz, Eta Gamma Chapter, Coffeyville Community College, Coffeyville, Kansas

Erind Disha, Alpha Iota Nu Chapter, Norwalk Community College, Norwalk, Connecticut

Gary Durbin, Alpha Psi Tau Chapter, Ozarks Technical Community College, Springfield, Missouri

Pat Furnish, Xi Pi Chapter, Polk State College, Winter Haven, Florida

Gina Hart, Xi Lambda Chapter, St. Louis Community College, St. Louis, Missouri

Janice Hitchcock, Alpha Mu Tau Chapter, Collin College, Frisco, Texas

Helen Hites, Alpha Kappa Psi Chapter, Kapiolani Community College, Honolulu, Hawaii

Kiara Ivory, Alpha Mu Delta Chapter, Hocking College, Nelsonville, Ohio

Sabrina Keesler, Alpha Upsilon Sigma Chapter, Jefferson Community and Technical College, Louisville, Kentucky

Kishani Kirubaharan, Beta Theta Kappa Chapter, Butte College, Oroville, California

Shamirah Langford, Beta Omicron Sigma Chapter, H. Lavity Stoutt Community College, Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Andrea Mcdaniel, Omicron Psi Chapter, Grayson College, Denison, Texas

Wendy Monarres, Mu Delta Chapter, Kansas City Kansas Community College, Kansas City, Kansas

Tam Nguyen, Alpha Alpha Xi Chapter, Richland College, Dallas, Texas

James Pegler, Beta Kappa Theta Chapter, Columbia State Community College, Columbia, Tennessee

Katelyn Pickles, Rho Kappa Chapter, Elgin Community College, Elgin, Illinois

Christina Pifer, Beta Gamma Zeta Chapter, Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana, Logansport, Indiana

Willie Riddle, Alpha Iota Chi Chapter, Northeast State Community College, Blountville, Tennessee

JeNyia Rocker, Alpha Epsilon Nu Chapter, Bishop State Community College, Mobile, Alabama

Fernando Rodriguez, Omega Gamma Chapter, El Paso Community College, El Paso, Texas

Jose Sandoval, Omega Omega Chapter, Mountain View College, Dallas, Texas

Zahra Shihabuddin, Alpha Gamma Zeta Chapter, San Jacinto College, Houston, Texas

Amanda Simmons, Alpha Epsilon Omicron Chapter, Trident Technical College, Charleston, South Carolina

Ashley Whitehead, Alpha Xi Chi Chapter, St. Charles Community College, St. Peters, Missouri

Saira Zaman, Omega Sigma Chapter, Houston, Community College, Houston, Texas

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.

Recommended Posts