Meet the 2014-2015 International Officer Candidates

We are pleased to introduce the candidates for the 2014-2015 International Officer positions! Serving as an International Officer is the highest position of student leadership in Phi Theta Kappa. This year, 27 members will be campaigning for your votes at NerdNation 2014.

“Serving as a Phi Theta Kappa International Officer is an incredible opportunity,” said Dawneen Banks, the Society’s Associate Director of Regional and Chapter Development for Division IV and a former International Vice President. “The requirements are many and can be difficult, but the rewards are immeasurable.”

You can learn more about each candidate by watching the Candidate Caucus, during which Phi Theta Kappa Executive Director and CEO Dr. Rod Risley interviews each candidate. Full candidate profiles and essays on the Honors Study Topic, Frontiers and the Spirit of Exploration, are also now available on the NerdNation website.

Each chapter attending NerdNation in Orlando, Florida, has a designated voting delegate, who for the first time will cast their chapters’ votes online for International Officer positions. The person designated as the chapter’s voting delegate will cast votes in both the Primary and Final Elections.

Political Rallies for the International Officer candidates will be held Thursday, April 24 from 4-5 p.m. and from 9-11 p.m. in the NerdNation Marketplace. Primary polling opens Thursday, April 24, at 10 p.m. and closes Friday, April 25, at 8 a.m.

Candidate Finalists will be announced during the Second General Session Friday, April 25, at 10 a.m., and their speeches will be made in that same session. Conversations with Candidate Finalists will be held April 25 from noon to 1 p.m. in Marketplace. Final polling is open from 11:30 a.m. until 10 p.m. on Friday, April 25.

The 2014-2015 International Officers will be announced during the Hallmark Awards Gala on Saturday, April 26, at 4:30 p.m.

Voting delegates will receive an email link to the online voting system once the polls open. Delegates without email access on a personal mobile device may use iPad stations at the Voter Registration Booth near NerdNation Registration to access this email and cast their votes. Be sure to watch the new video for Voting Delegates for more details.

The 2014-2015 International Officer Candidates are:

International President

James Browne
Kappa Tau Chapter
Metropolitan Community College-Longview
Lee’s Summit, Missouri

Ebonee Carpenter
Alpha Lambda Alpha Chapter
Hillsborough Community College
Tampa, Florida

Mark Davis II
Mu Tau Chapter
Lansing Community College
Lansing, Michigan

David A. DeClerck
Alpha Omicron Chapter
Tyler Junior College
Tyler, Texas

Jarrett Fletcher
Alpha Gamma Omega Chapter
Valencia College
Orlando, Florida

Eric Trey Mueller
Eta Gamma Chapter
Coffeyville Community College
Coffeyville, Kansas

Kevin O’Brien
Alpha Pi Pi Chapter
Community College of Aurora
Aurora, Colorado

Nathaniel Peoples
Beta Sigma Mu Chapter
Tarrant County College
Fort Worth, Texas

Paul Reeck
Beta Nu Chi Chapter
Western Technical College
La Crosse, Wisconsin

Cody J. Young
Alpha Upsilon Sigma Chapter
Jefferson Community & Technical College
Louisville, Kentucky

Division I Vice President

Stella Galyean
Alpha Upsilon Eta Chapter
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community
Asheville, North Carolina

Megan A. Giles
Alpha Nu Omega Chapter
Harrisburg Area Community College
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Megan Sims
Upsilon Upsilon Chapter
Southwest Virginia Community College
Cedar Bluff, Virginia

Division II Vice President

Rachel M. Carpenter
Upsilon Delta Chapter
Southwest Tennessee Community College
Memphis, Tennessee

Michael Nguyen
Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter
Holmes Community College
Ridgeland, Mississippi

Jennifer Seymour
Omicron Alpha Chapter
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College-Jefferson Davis Campus
Gulfport, Mississippi

Jesus Manuel Tovar
Omega Gamma Chapter
El Paso Community College
El Paso, Texas

Christina Urbina
Xi Pi Chapter
Polk State College
Winter Haven, Florida

Division III Vice President

Rashida Jones-Frazier
Alpha Pi Nu Chapter
Oklahoma State University/Oklahoma City
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Brandi Keltner
Alpha Psi Tau Chapter
Ozarks Technical Community College
Springfield, Missouri

Elizabeth Lynch
Alpha Rho Tau Chapter
Ivy Tech Community College
Columbus, Indiana

Trevor Mileur
Upsilon Mu Chapter
Illinois Central
Peoria, Illinois

Sarah Osen
Omicron Iota Chapter
Schoolcraft College
Livonia, Michigan

Nicolas Suarez
Omicron Chapter
Rochester Community and Technical College
Rochester, Minnesota

Division IV Vice President

Sheena McPeek
Alpha Tau Tau Chapter
Central Community College-Grand Island
Grand Island, Nebraska

Ivette Pina
Alpha Eta Delta Chapter
South Mountain Community College
Phoenix, Arizona

Vikki Vasquez
Omicron Phi Chapter
Treasure Valley Community College
Ontario, Oregon

Recommended Posts