Alpha Zeta Omicron Named Most Distinguished Chapter

The Alpha Zeta Omicron Chapter from Cedar Valley College in Lancaster, Texas, has been named Phi Theta Kappa’s 2014 Most Distinguished Chapter!

Most Distinguished Chapter is the highest honor given to a Phi Theta Kappa chapter. The award was presented during the Hallmark Awards Gala during NerdNation 2014 in Orlando, Florida.

The Alpha Zeta Omicron Chapter also received a Distinguished Chapter Award, a Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award, a Distinguished College Project Award and a Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award. In addition, the chapter received a Distinguished Honors in Action Theme Award for Theme One of the Honors Study Topic: It’s All in Your Mind: Foundation of Competition/Competition and Psychology. It was also named a Top 100 Chapter.

Chapter advisors are Dr. Tommy Thompson, Miyoshi Holmes, Rebekah Rios-Harris and Carolyn Ward.

To be considered for a Distinguished Chapter Award, a chapter must submit entries for both the Honors in Action Project Award and the College Project Award. The top 10 percent of chapters submitting award entries in both categories will be recognized as Distinguished Chapters.

The nine finalists for Most Distinguished Chapter were:

First Finalist
Alpha Gamma Omega
Valencia College
Orlando, Florida

Second Finalist (tie)
Alpha Upsilon Eta
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College
Asheville, North Carolina

Second Finalist (tie)
Alpha Lambda Xi
Lone Star College – Kingwood
Kingwood, Texas

Fourth Finalist
Omicron Beta
Mesa Community College
Mesa, Arizona

Fifth Finalist
Alpha Zeta Eta
North Lake College
Irving, Texas

Sixth Finalist
Alpha Nu Sigma
Horry-Georgetown Technical College
Conway, South Carolina

Seventh Finalist
Alpha Kappa Sigma
Red Rocks Community College
Lakewood, Colorado

Eighth Finalist
Gamma Lambda
Hinds Community College
Raymond, Mississippi

Ninth Finalist
Kappa Alpha
Holmes Community College
Goodman, Mississippi

Recommended Posts